A new era of online cannabis delivery services was born back in 1996 when California legalized medical marijuana. Entrepreneurs were quick to seize the new…
Marijuana gifts are coming to all weed lovers in marijuana-friendly states. Credit goes to all those who voted for recreational cannabis in 2016. With the passing of recreational marijuana laws, gift-giving during this festive season just got better. However, the fact that recreational weed us decriminalized in a state does not mean that you can just give it out the way you want. Make sure you do it right, otherwise, your celebrations may just come to a halt. To be on the safe side, here is where and how you can present your marijuana gifts to your friends.
Colorado: under the personal use law of Colorado, adults above the age of 21 years are allowed to give up to an ounce of weed to another adult of the same age as defined. Therefore, it is obvious that you cannot give a marijuana gift to a minor. Most importantly, always remember that there is a set amount of weed for individual use that anyone can possess at a given time. Therefore, don’t move around issuing your well-stocked marijuana to your friend lest they be victimized for being in possession of marijuana beyond the set limits.
Next, we look at Massachusetts. Massachusetts marijuana laws are almost the same as those established in Colorado. The only difference is the acceptable quantity of cannabis any individual is permitted to possess. This depends on the location of the person. Adults aged 21 years and above are permitted by the law to have only an ounce of marijuana outside their homes. Any amount between 1-2 ounces given as a gift will get the bearer a civil fine of $100 and any amount over two ounces will be termed as a criminal offense. Within their homes, adults aged 21 years and over can possess up to 10 ounces of marijuana. As pointed out by the Boston Globe, all the same, it is vital to ensure that the individual you are offering a gift doesn’t think you need anything in return. Gifting marijuana and then getting payment later on or reciprocal offers of weed and items of value is not permissible by law. Again, selling in the black market is also a crime punishable by law.
Weed Christmas gifts in Nevada: in this state, adults aged 21 years and above can offer up any amount equal to or less than an ounce of pot. However, as an adult, you cannot give out or possess an ounce of marijuana or an eighth of marijuana concentrate. However, this is only possible after January 1 when the new regulation will be effected.
For all interested in giving marijuana Christmas gifts in California, you need to read in between the lines carefully. The controversial Proposition 64 was passed allowing the use of recreational cannabis. However, users will have to wait until the state begins giving out licenses for selling recreational marijuana legally in the start of January, 2018. Therefore, having marijuana now will mean that your generous medical cannabis-using friends are ready to give part of it away. In such a case, as the medical marijuana patient, you can only give an ounce of dry marijuana or less than 8g of cannabis concentrate. Most importantly, it should be clearly defined as a weed gift. Exchanging services will land you to problems.
Those prepared to give weed gifts in Maine will be in a position to be generous with it. An adult of 21 years and over will be permitted by the law to have about to 2.5 ounces of recreational weed after the legalization takes course. Other places where you can give out marijuana gifts include Alaska, Oregon and Washington, D.C. However, it will be important to know what is permissible and what is not.